Skip to main content
Herc: A Queer Mythology Retelling

Herc: A Queer Greek Mythology Retelling

Current price: $30.00
Publication Date: September 5th, 2023
Publisher:
Hanover Square Press
ISBN:
9781335016775
Pages:
384
Heartleaf Books
1 on hand, as of Feb 28 6:57pm
(Floor)
On Our Shelves Now

Description

A queer revisionist retelling of the story of Hercules, for fans of The Song of Achilles, A Thousand Ships and Ariadne.

This should be the story of Hercules: his twelve labours, his endless adventures... everyone's favorite hero, right?

Well, it's not.

This is the story of everyone else:

  • Alcmene: Herc's mother (She has knives everywhere)
  • Hylas: Herc's first friend (They were more than friends)
  • Megara: Herc's wife (She'll tell you about their marriage)
  • Eurystheus: Oversaw Herc's labours (He never asked for the job)
  • His friends, his enemies, his wives, his children, his lovers, his rivals, his gods, his victims

It's time to hear their stories.

Told with humour and heart, Herc gives voice to the silenced characters, in this feminist, queer (and sometimes shocking) retelling of classic Hercules myth.